SCO 24/25 Silent Night


A space for calm, contemplation and wonder. Music to soothe the soul, and celebrate the magic of the season.

Join the luminous voices of the SCO Chorus under conductor Gregory Batsleer in the intimate setting of Greyfriars Kirk for a much-loved Edinburgh musical tradition.

The hushed expectation of Gruber’s glorious ‘Silent Night’ forms the Christmas concert’s beating heart, alongside Vaughan Williams’s folk-inspired ‘The Truth from Above’, the mystery of Judith Weir’s ‘Drop down, ye heavens’, and the rich, cosmic power of Tavener’s mystical hymn. SCO musician Kana Kawashima intersperses intimate solo violin reflections.

Vaughan Williams: The Truth from Above Weir: Drop down, ye heavens Howells: A Spotless Rose Gruber arr Walker: Silent Night Tavener: Hymn to the Mother of God And music by Heinrich Schütz, Hieronymus and Michael Praetorius, Roderick Williams and Sir James MacMillan.

New arrangement of Silent Night by Lucy Walker commissioned by the SCO Chorus.

SCO Chorus Gregory Batsleer: Conductor Kana Kawashima: Violin


Enjoy code: 976928
Target groups
Youth, Adult, Elderly
External information

Available tickets

19/12 2024 7:30pm
Greyfriars Kirk Greyfriars Place EDINBURGH
Provided by The List