RSNO 2024/25: Spectacular Shostakovich


General tickets on sale from Monday 13 May 2024

Spectacular Shostakovich

Shostakovich – Festive Overture

Shostakovich – Cello Concerto No2

Shostakovich – Symphony No11 The Year 1905

Thomas Søndergård, Conductor

Daniel Muller-Schott, Cello

Officially, Shostakovich based his massive Eleventh Symphony on the Russian revolution of 1905, but this blockbuster of a symphony is still grippingly relevant today. As Scotland’s National Orchestra pay tribute to the 50th anniversary of Shostakovich’s death, Music Director Thomas Søndergård brings their Concert Season to a close in truly epic style: opening with the jubilant trumpets of the Festive Overture and joining Daniel Müller-Schott (‘Fearless’ – The New York Times) in a Cello Concerto that feels more like a Cold War thriller. It doesn’t get more powerful than this.


Enjoy code: 586890
Target groups
Elderly, Youth, Adult
External information

Available tickets

07/06 2025 7:30pm
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall 2 Sauchiehall Street GLASGOW
Provided by The List