Peter Donohoe plays Rachmaninov

This activity is completed or marked as expired


Conductor: David Curtis Tchaikovsky: Overture Romeo and Juliet Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Suite no. 2 (selected movements) Rachmaninov: Piano concerto no. 2 in C minor Soloist: Peter Donohoe

The Cheltenham Symphony Orchestra starts this concert with two very different versions of the story of Romeo and Juliet. The Tchaikovsky tone poem was probably his first masterpiece with its many themes interwoven to tell the famous story. The much later ballet by Prokofiev is represented by a suite of seven major themes.

Rachmaninov’s second piano concerto needs little introduction – and neither does the soloist! The concerto is Classic FM’s top work in its aggregated Hall of Fame. Since his success as joint winner of the 1982 International Tchaikovsky Competition, Peter Donohoe has gained international renown as one of the foremost pianists of our time, for his musicianship, stylistic versatility and commanding technique.

After noon on concert day, tickets can only be bought on the door.


Enjoy code: 393029
Target groups
Adult, Youth, Elderly
External information