English Symphony Orchestra - Concert Series 2022/23

This activity is completed or marked as expired


Please note the orchestra, the musicians and the programme of music are all subject to change.

English Symphony Orchestra

Conductor Kenneth Woods

Piano Noriko Ogawa

Brahms Tragic Overture, Op.81

Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor, Op.16

Sibelius Symphony No 5 in E flat, Op.82

Another much-loved favourite from the repertoire - Grieg’s only piano concerto, famous for its opening drumroll, poetic second movement and of course, Morecambe & Wise Andre Previn! - forms the centrepiece of tonight’s concert, with Japanese pianist Noriko Ogawa making her first Town Hall appearance.

The outer works are equally impressive, beginning with Brahms’ turbulent and tormented concert overture of 1888 and closing with a work that has often been voted the finest symphony of the 20th century – Sibelius’ Fifth. Only three movements long, but a masterpiece that signals how alive and well the Romantic language still was in 1915.

Please note there is a £2 ticket commission fee included in the price of the ticket.


Enjoy code: 681868
Target groups
Elderly, Youth, Adult
External information