Elder Conducts Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty


Book between 4 and 13 concerts in the BBC SSO’s Thursday Night Series and save up to 30%. Seniors are entitled to an extra 5% off. Your discount will be automatically applied at the online checkout.

Imagine this. Glorious tunes in an enchanting ballet score for a timeless fairy tale.

Sibelius Scènes Historiques, Suite No.2 (c.19 mins)

Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.2 (c.30 mins)

Tchaikovsky The Sleeping Beauty (Suite) (40 mins)

Tom Borrow piano

Sir Mark Elder conductor

Sir Mark Elder is more than just one of the world’s most respected conductors; he’s an artist who lives every minute of the music. “He coaxed a gorgeous sound from the musicians of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra” wrote The Times in 2022. And it’s true - Elder has a lifetime’s understanding of what makes an orchestra glow. Under his direction, this sumptuous, gloriously tuneful selection from Tchaikovsky’s greatest ballet score would be a treat in itself, but with Elder there’s always a bigger picture and a colourful rarity by Sibelius is merely the upbeat to Prokofiev’s ferocious Second Piano Concerto. Music from a time of revolution, played by a pianist as fearless as Elder himself.

Tickets: £31, £26, £21, £16, £14 Concessions: £6.00 - Under 26s, Students, Registered Unemployed (proof of status. 50% Discount - Registered Disabled


Enjoy code: 283965
Target groups
Elderly, Adult, Youth
External information

Available tickets

14/11 2024 7:30pm
City Halls & Old Fruitmarket Candleriggs GLASGOW
Provided by The List