China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra


Conductor: Daye Lin

Soloists: Tamsin Waley-Cohen (violin), Jaipeng Nie (cello)

Programme: Tan Dun - Excerpts from Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (20’) (Jaipeng Nie)

Chausson - Poeme (16’) (Tamsin Waley Cohen)

Saint Saens - Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso (10’) (Tamsin Waley-Cohen)

Respighi - Fountains of Rome (15’)

Respighi - Pines of Rome (23’)

We’re delighted to host one of China’s most exciting orchestras, the China Shenzhen Symphony Orchestra. Appropriately, the concert will begin with the leading Chinese / American composer Tan Dun’s musical excerpts from the award-winning film Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon featuring the soloist Jaipeng Nie. Following this, the orchestra will be joined by Tamsin Waley-Cohen, the brilliant young British violinist, in two masterworks for orchestra and violin - Chausson’s Poeme and Saint Saens’ Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso. The second half of the concert will feature two monumental tone poems, Respighi’s Fountains of Rome and his ultimate work; Pines of Rome.


Enjoy code: 495600
Target groups
Youth, Adult, Elderly
External information

Available tickets

23/03 2024 7:30pm
Cheltenham Town Hall Imperial Square CHELTENHAM
Provided by The List